Convincing your Parents to Send you To Boarding School

The first time I told my parents I wanted to go to boarding school I was 8 years old, and needless to say they said no. About 5.5 -6 years later, I was in the 8th grade and my parents and I were questioning where I was going to high school. We didn’t like our local public schools nor a couple of the other private schools, so we were in a pickle. Thankfully, my school ended at the 9th grade, not 8th so we had an anther year to help us figure things out. Well, towards the end of my 8th-grade year I approached my parents with the idea of boarding school. Because I had gone to them prepared to show the benefits of boarding school, with videos and facts about why boarding school is great and knew why wanted to go, they said yes. My parents told me they would support me in the process, but to make sure it was something I really wanted. Which I did.  After my presentation, my mom told me to come back to them in a few days with a basic list of schools that I was interested in. I came back to them with a nice list of schools and could easily convey the reasons why I thought they qualified over others. Because I could do so I think that made my parents (if they hadn’t already) see how dedicated and serious I was about wanting to go to boarding school.

So, just show your parents some benefits of boarding school (yes, this requires research) and really demonstrate why you think you could benefit from the experience and why you want to go. Not all parents are the same so yours may or may not need a lot of convincing. If your parents say no, ask them why, and then continue bringing it up in a non-whinny or bratty manner. I’ve gone on forums and seen where some Kids have basically done the whole process by themselves and their parents only provided transportation and did all necessary (parental) paperwork. That really stinks to not have the support of your parents, or for them to be so busy that they can’t look over your essays. I am extremely thankful, I didn’t have these kinds of problems. However, some kids do and you might. If your parents say no, or grudgingly say yes you might have to be one of those kids. If so, just press onward and know that the end result will make it all worth it. Truly, if your parents say no several time, you might have to ask yourself is it worth it? Or if you really want it.  After asking yourself this, it might be best to just respect their decision, and know that your parents want what they think is best for you. In the end, boarding school is not everything and it will turn out just fine.

 

Leave a Reply

